there wasn’t enough sun left in the sky

The edition of One Hundred Years of Solitude I got from the library has a blurb on the inside front cover that says it “is the first piece of literature since the Book of Genesis that should be required reading for the entire human race…” I was all like, whoa whoa there, that’s a pretty bold statement. So it being on my reading list for a while and having it right there in my had I decided to check it out. I got home a while later, popped open a soda, took my gear outta my pockets (looking at the stuff I have now it’s amazing, how many knives and pens does a person need to get through the day? 2 of the former, but 1 is a multitool and the other is not very well designed, 3 of the latter, but I think one doesn’t work.), took my watch off and started to read. I looked up and 2 hours had passed, my coke had gone flat, and there wasn’t enough sun left in the sky to read by. I think I stayed up until 1 AM reading it, it’s been a while since that happened. 100 Years of Solitude is about the rise and fall of the Buendia family, which runs parallel to the fate of the town of Macondo, told in some of the must luxurious words around. It’s a deep dream novela. Of course I have the advantage of speaking spanish, being familiar with the history of central america, and, most importantly of all, hearing stories of mythical relatives from my own family. So there is a vague familiarity which makes the impact of the book hit harder. The book is a lush as a jungle, heartbreaking and hilarious, supernatural blessings and damned rotten luck. It’s pretty damn good.
Here’s a song inspired by the novel, Macondo by Oscar Chavez:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

